2024 Stiletto Contest

Announcing the 2024 Stiletto Contest

The Stiletto Contest celebrates and recognizes excellence in the contemporary romance genre for published and unpublished novels. 

Contemporary Romance Writers focuses on the contemporary romance genre, and the Stiletto Contest upholds the organization’s goal of bringing awareness to the best work by authors and writers in contemporary romance.

  • Submissions open: March 1, 2024
  • Submissions close: March 31, 2024
  • Winners announced: July 27, 2024 at our Virtual Conference

Unpublished Division Final Round Judges include:

  • TBD

The Entry Categories for the Published and Unpublished Divisions are:

  • Contemporary Short (20,000 to 50,000 words)
  • Contemporary Mid-Length (50,000 to 80,000 words)
  • Contemporary Long (over 80,000 words)
  • Contemporary Young Adult / New Adult
  • Contemporary Women’s Fiction / Chick-Lit
  • Contemporary Speculative / Paranormal (includes Urban Fantasy with romance)
  • Contemporary Romantic Suspense
  • Contemporary Erotic Romance
  • Contemporary LGBTQIA+

Anti-Discrimination Policy

The Stiletto Contest does not discriminate based on race, color, ethnicity, national origin, age, gender, gender identity, gender expression, sexual orientation, disability, physical appearance, body size, or religion. We expect the same from our judges and entrants with a zero tolerance policy.

Any questions should be directed to contest@contemporaryromance.org.

Important links:

Go here for contest rules

Finalists | Winners

Contemporary Romance Long (80k+)

Eliza San Juan “Don’t Promise Me Tomorrow”

E.L. Diamond “The Light This Time”

Despina Karras “Love You Like A Hurricane”


Contemporary Romance Mid-Length (50-80k)

Sarah Milstein “Too Hot, Too Bothered”

Kristin Mara “Return to Redemption”

Kate Lutter “Vineyard Enchanted”


Contemporary Romantic Suspense

Rodney Walther “What Remains Behind”

Tara Horne “How to Get Blood Out of Carpet and Other Tips for Dating”

Lindsay Layne “Tropical Entanglement”


Contemporary Women’s Fiction/Chick-Lit

April Kelly “Never Not Yours”

Jen Dupuis “Thank You For Not Quitting”

Sarah McGregor “The Bottom Line”


Contemporary Young Adult/New Adult

J.L. Wyer “The Kiss Wish”

Melissa Phillips “By the Stars and the Moon”


Contemporary Erotic Romance

Marie Tuhart “Unmasked”

Jennie Kew “Size Doesn’t Matter”

Jennilynn Wyer “Beautiful Sin”


Contemporary Romance Long (80+)

Jennifer Trinh “Coming Clean”

Cara Dion “Whisking It All”

Jennilynn Wyer “About That Night”


Contemporary Romance Mid-Length (50-80k)

Teri Wilson “Marry & Bright”

Abigail Drake “A Royal Pain”

Cara Tanamachi “The Takeover”


Contemporary Romance Short (20-50k)

Susannah Erwin “Seven Years of Secrets”

Harper Cross “All I Want for Christmas Is Her”

Deanna Roddy “When They Were Hiding”


Contemporary Romantic Suspense

Jordyn Redwood “Eliminating the Witness”

Harper Cross “Baby Take Me Home”

JB Schroeder “Blinded”


Contemporary Women’s Fiction/Chick-Lit

Savannah Kade “Hidden Hearts”

Kimberley Ash “Champion”

Abigail Drake “Writing Mr. Right”