E-Newsletter | Issue: 2022-03-03

President’s Letter

From the writing desk of Nicole R. Locker

Dear CRW Members, 

We’re excited to extend a warm welcome to our newest members to CRW: Haley H., Linda Rees, Christina Neuroth, Dotti Enderle, Louise Foerster, Laura Stember, Charlene Logan Kelly, Tanya Swinimar, Sarah Vance-Tompkins, Aurelia Yates, Breanna Welch, Julia Fortune, Jessica Pomerantz, Kathy Evans, and Jennifer Santiago.

File:Outline of Ukraine.svg - Wikimedia Commons

I’m adding something a little different this week because I think it’s important. I would like to share a brief, personal note today in solidarity with and hope for the people of Ukraine, who fight for their freedom today. Maybe I’m not alone in my feelings of empathy, sorrow, anxiety, anger, or even fear. What does this war mean for the world we live in?

In our terms, Historical and Contemporary should be on two different ends of a spectrum, but today those two worlds collide as we live this atrocious and historical event, this history in the making. And maybe I’m not the only one just a little bit awed by the courageous (and handsome!) Ukranian President, Volodymyr Zelenskyy and the other Ukranian leaders fighting alongside their countrymen against the Goliath of Russian forces.

Those of us who write fiction, and especially romance, we know that happy endings and beating seemingly insurmountable odds is possible, however improbable that might seem. We know that help can come from the most unexpected of places, and that each person, each character, plays their own part. We know that not everyone makes it to the end of the story, but what they add to it should not and must not be devalued. We know the price of freedom and the price to defend it.

Take heart today, Romance Writer, for we hold a great truth: if the ending isn’t good, then it’s not over yet.

Announcements

STILETTO CONTEST OPENS MARCH 5, 2022
CRW’s annual Stiletto Contest opens for submissions this week on March 5, 2022. Final round judges for the Unpublished division have been posted, and we hope you’re as excited as we are. If you wrote or published a Contemporary Romance in 2021, consider entering the Stiletto Contest!
Learn More


CRW ACCEPTING DOOR PRIZE DONATIONS FOR SUMMER CONFERENCE
If you would like to donate a door prize for the 2022 Contemporary Romance Virtual Writing Conference, please complete the form here.


Request: New Slack Desktop Icon? · Issue #1610 ·  PapirusDevelopmentTeam/papirus-icon-theme · GitHub

MEMBER FORUMS: If you haven’t already, join the CRW Member Forum on Slack so that you do not miss questions, opportunities, and helpful resources shared by other members.

We created a short tutorial to get you started if you are new to Slack. Watch the getting started tutorial here.


ACCOUNTABILITY GROUP SIGN-UPS: Set and meet your writing goals this year by joining the CRW Accountability Group, led by Tanya Agler. Group accountability can make all the difference by keeping you on track and helping you veer back quickly before you get too far off your path.

Sign up to join the CRW Accountability Group here.


Regional Writing Retreat Interest Forms

If you have any interest in attending a “regional” writing retreat, please complete the interest polls below as applicable.

Western Retreat
Eastern Retreat
Central US Retreat


Upcoming CRW Events

Event Calendar

March 5 | Saturday
2022 Stiletto Contest opens for submissions
Learn More

March 9 | Wednesday
7pm ET | 6pm CT | 5pm MT | 4pm PT
CRW New Member Welcome (Zoom)
New to CRW? Join Stephanie Scott this coming up Sunday afternoon for an introduction to Contemporary Romance Writers. She will give you the low-down on what we do, how you can access the various things we offer, and get you connected and directed.

March 9 | Wednesday
7:30pm ET | 6:30pm CT | 5:30pm MT | 4:30pm PT
CRW Member Townhall (Zoom)
Right after the New Member Welcome, jump on for a CRW Member Town Hall where you can connect with other CRW members, do some networking, make some friends, hear what we’re cooking up behind the scenes, and ask any questions you may have.

March 12 | Saturday
1pm ET | 12pm CT | 11am MT | 10am PT
Webinar: Writing LGBTQ+ Characters with Alex Sanchez (register)

Writing Sprints

Every Tuesday: 12pm ET | 11am CT | 10am MT | 9am PT
Sprints with Tanya on Zoom

Every Thursday: 10:30pm ET | 9:30pm CT | 8:30pm MT | 7:30pm PT
Sprints with Nicky on Zoom

Every Saturday: 12pm ET | 11am CT | 10am MT | 9am PT
Sprints with Michelle on Zoom 

Want to run sprints at a different day/time? Let us know!


Member New Releases

The Adoption Surprise
by Zoey Marie Jackson
Release date February 22, 2022
Sly Man Gray
by Nicole R. Locker
Release date March 1, 2022

Share your new release here.


March Workshops

Registration is still open!

March 1 – 31
Plan Your Quarter of Social Media
Lisa Catto
March 12 – 1pm Eastern|12pm Central|11am Mountain|10am Pacific
Writing LGBTQ+ Characters
Alex Sanchez

Have a New Release?

Member New Releases 2021 | 2022

CRW Merch Store

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.