E-Newsletter | Issue: 2022-07-14

President’s Letter

From the writing desk of Nicole R. Locker

Dear CRW Members, 

We’re excited to extend a warm welcome to our newest members to CRW: Jenny Trewin, Cindy Rouch, Rachel Russell, Eva Fox Mate, Annee Jones, Amanda Willett, Maia Bowen, Diana Georgelos, Shannyn Schroeder, Kimberly Page, Marcia Tealer, Nicola Myles, Margaret Walls, Jodi Turchin, Mary Wilson, Elizabeth Newmeyer, Peggy Eddleman (Meg Easton), Rose Fresquez, Jennifer Sommersby Young, Lisa Fellinger, Susan Toth, Kerry Lockhart, Jackie Floyd, Megan Clancy, Sapphire Knefel, Cari Quater, Dorma Kay Lyons, Heidi Ulrich, Liberty Blake, Kimberly Mackey, Teresa Andrews, Rebekah Fraser, Julie Wallace-Cooley, Josee Telfer, Maria Lokken, Sara Dugan, Cherton Underwood Forsberg, Sandra Wall, Shade Nathaniel-Ayodele, Evon Roux, Nichole Rose, Michelle Storrusten, Megan Bremer, Michelle Tanner, Gracey Evans, Megan Donnelly, Jenna McCall, Yvonne Nelson, Monica Gomez-Hira, Sharae Lyles, Sarah Williams, Katie MacAlister, Crystal Ferry, Lateisha Garrett, Mar Mills, Denise Wells, Nichole Hightower, Sarah Reid, Tara Maldonado, Autumn Cicco, Beth Hale, Stacy Reed, Debbi Cracovia, Jane Zmarzly, and Rosie Rivera. Welcome, everyone!

Please be sure to mark your calendars for the upcoming New Member Welcome meeting, led by CRW Member (and recent Stiletto Award Winner!) Stephanie J. Scott.

NEW MEMBER WELCOME MEETING

Sunday, August 14, 2022 – 4:00 p.m. ET | 3:00 p.m. CT | 2:00 p.m. MT | 1:00 p.m. PT
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86370330299?pwd=SEhkdHRHcjdlZm5ELzc3UjhpeUZSQT09
Add to your Google Calendar

Announcements

In-Person Writing Retreats

Register or learn more about the Eastern US Writing Retreat. (September 16-19, 2022, in Nashville, TN)
Deadline for early-bird pricing $99 is August 1, 2022, so don’t delay!
Members who have signed up have also talked about sharing rooms, so be sure to check for those posts in Facebook and Slack!

Register or learn more about the Western US Writing Retreat. (October 21-23, 2022, in San Diego, CA)
Deadline for early-bird pricing $199 is August 1, 2022, so don’t delay!
This retreat will include 4 writing workshops led in-person by the amazing Laurie Schnebly-Campbell.
Members who have signed up have also talked about sharing rooms, so be sure to check for those posts in Facebook and Slack!

Volunteers Needed!

CLUBHOUSE: We’re looking for volunteers to help us bring back our weekly fireside chat. Don’t worry, you won’t be asked to lead every week. Our plan is to have a rotation of moderators that can lead each week so it doesn’t fall on one person. Ideally, we’d like to start with a topic each week, talk about it for roughly 30 minutes and open up to discussion about the topic or whatever the people in the room would like to talk about related to writing. If there’s a week without a topic, we can do an open chat about writing. We’d love help in coming up with topics once we get a group of volunteers solidified.
Sign Up for Clubhouse

ELECTIONS COORDINATOR: Elections for the 2023 CRW Board are just around the corner. We need a volunteer to help us coordinate the candidates running for each board position and getting the voting form lined up to send out in October 2022. If you can help this year, please email Nicole to let her know!

CRW 2023 BOARD VOLUNTEERS: Are you interested in running for a CRW board position for 2023? If so, email Nicole to let her know, and if you have a specific position in mind, please specify that in your email, as well. Being on the board is a great way to make new friends with other people in your genre and get more involved with planning of CRW programs and events.

CRW Affiliate

Did you know that you can earn $5.00 off your next membership renewal for each new CRW member you invite to join using your affiliate link? You can earn up to the full amount ($40) if 8 of your friends join. Find your affiliate link here (must be logged in to view), and share it with your Contemporary Romance author friends. If you have affiliate credit, be sure to get your discount code from us before you renew. You can request that at communications@contemporaryromance.org.


Request: New Slack Desktop Icon? · Issue #1610 ·  PapirusDevelopmentTeam/papirus-icon-theme · GitHub

MEMBER FORUMS: If you haven’t already, join the CRW Member Forum on Slack so that you do not miss questions, opportunities, and helpful resources shared by other members.

We created a short tutorial to get you started if you are new to Slack. Watch the getting started tutorial here.


Industry News

submitted by Pamela Ferguson

Disclaimer: CRW does not endorse any of the websites, businesses, or news sources mentioned. Articles are provided for information purposes only. Articles are free or are hosted on websites that provide limited free article access each month. Complete urls are included so readers know what they are clicking on.

News Highlights

“15 great books by Black authors that don’t center on trauma, from romance novels to thrillers,” businessinsider.com, June 13, 2022, https://www.businessinsider.com/guides/learning/books-by-black-authors-black-joy

“‘After lockdown, things exploded’ – how TikTok triggered a books revolution,” the guardian.com, June 8, 2022, https://www.theguardian.com/books/2022/jun/08/lockdown-exploded-tiktok-books-revolution-booktok

“Authors are protesting Amazon’s e-book policy that allows users to read and return,” npr.org, June 27, 2022, https://www.npr.org/2022/06/27/1107109243/amazon-kindle-ebook-return-policy

“BOOK RIOT’S READ HARDER CHALLENGE: PRIDE EDITION,” bookriot.com, June 7, 2022, https://bookriot.com/read-harder-challenge-pride-edition/

“Chefs Are the Lusty New Heartthrobs in Romance Novels,” bonappetit.com, June 21, 2022, https://www.bonappetit.com/story/chefs-heartthrobs-romance-novels

“Dreamed of Becoming an Author? Take a Page from This First-Time Novelist,” katiecouric.com, June 7, 2022,” https://katiecouric.com/culture/book-guide/marketing-tips-for-first-time-authors/

“Fall 2022 Announcements: Romance & Erotica,” publishersweekly.com, June 17, 2022, https://www.publishersweekly.com/pw/by-topic/new-titles/adult-announcements/article/89621-fall-2022-announcements-romance-erotica.html

Upcoming Pitch Opportunities 

Ready to put your manuscript in front of agents and editors? Here are some upcoming pitch opportunities. Some are free. Some require registering for an online conference. New pitch events are announced all the time, so check publisher, agent, and conference social media sites for more information. Also be sure to search #MSWL (Manuscript Wish List) on Twitter from time to time. You never know what editors will post!

July 2022

Pitch Slam – Part of Writer’s Digest Annual Conference – New York City, July 28-31, 2022

https://writersdigestconference.com/pitch-slam/

Other Upcoming Events

CampNaNoWriMo – July 1-30, 2022

https://nanowrimo.org/what-is-camp-nanowrimo

Bookstore Romance Day – August 20, 2022

Bookstore Romance Day

Please send industry news topics you’d like included in the CRW newsletter to Pamela Ferguson on the CRW Slack channel or via a Facebook DM.


Upcoming CRW Events

Event Calendar

Writing Sprints

Every Tuesday: 12pm ET | 11am CT | 10am MT | 9am PT
Sprints with Tanya on Zoom

Every Wednesday: 8pm ET | 7pm CT | 6pm MT | 5pm PT
Sprints with Dayna on Zoom

Every Thursday: 10:30pm ET | 9:30pm CT | 8:30pm MT | 7:30pm PT
Sprints with Nicky on Zoom

Every Saturday: 12pm ET | 11am CT | 10am MT | 9am PT
Sprints with Michelle on Zoom 

Want to run sprints at a different day/time? Let us know!


Member New Releases

Defiant Heart
Author: Brighton Walsh
Release Date: June 14, 2022
Author Website: https://www.brightonwalsh.com
Flickering Heart
Author: Tricia T. LaRochelle
Release Date: June 21, 2022
Author Website: https://tricialarochelle.com/
Forget Me: A Fake-Dating Workplace Standalone Romantic Comedy
Author: Michelle McCraw
Release Date: June 24, 2022
Author Website: https://michellemccraw.com
Vindictive Heir
Author: Sahara Roberts
Release Date: July 10, 2022
Author Website: https://www.sahararoberts.com/
Hottie On Her Shelf
Author: Christi Barth
Release Date: July 11, 2022
Author Website: https://www.christibarth.com
Circle the Stars
Author: Kris Jayne
Release Date: July 12, 2022
Author Website: https://krisjayne.com
Savage Kings
Author: Jennilynn Wyer
Release Date: July 12, 2022
Author Website: http://www.jennilynnwyer.com

Share your new release here.


August 1 – 31
Zigzag Plotting
Zara West
August 6 – 4pm Eastern | 3pm Central | 2pm Mountain | 1pm Pacific
Secrets of Productivity
Mary Buckham
August 20 – 12 pm PT | 1pm MT | 2pm CT | 3pm ET
Write Good Write Well: Demystifying Editors and Editing with Sarah Allan
Sarah Allan

Have a New Release?

Member New Releases 2021 | 2022

CRW Merch Store

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *