E-Newsletter | Issue: 2023-05-01

President’s Letter

From the writing desk of Nicole R. Locker

Dear CRW Members,

Happy May! We have a couple of important announcements for CRW Members this month, including a Published Author “Ask Me Anything” event on May 7, and Summer Conference registrations now open, so keep reading to hear what’s coming up in May!

New Members

Please join me in extending a big, warm welcome to our newest members of CRW:

  • Myriam Wood
  • Demeiko Sprewell
  • Kate Armstrong
  • Kelly Gotham Audin
  • Lindsay Hobbs
  • Rachel Jones
  • Poppy Carter
  • Sabina Boston

Published Author “Ask Me Anything”

Members Only – Published Author Ask Me Anything
Sunday May 7, 2023 – 3:00 pm ET | 2:00 pm CT | 1:00 pm MT | 12:00 pm PT
Featured Authors: Brighton Walsh, Robin Covington, Mariah Ankenman

If you can’t be there live and want to watch a recording after the fact, RSVP so the recording can be sent to you.

This program is in place of our new member welcome but is open to anyone in the group, regardless of how new or experienced you are! This program is only for Contemporary Romance Writers members.

Our featured author group represents traditional and indie publishing.

Get your questions ready! If you have questions you’d like the moderators to ask the group, add them ahead of time as a comment here. We’ll also have a chat function in Zoom during the program.

https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZUtfu6tqTMoHNMxQGF4NII6JSO-aPC09U3X#/registrationSee Zoom link below and make sure to click now so you receive reminders and updates about the recording. https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZUtfu6tqTMoHNMxQGF4NII6JSO-aPC09U3X#/registration

2023 Virtual Writing Conference

The 2023 Virtual Writing Conference is just around the corner. This year’s dates are July 29-30, with an add-on Masterclass with Celeste Barclay on Friday, July 28. 

Join us for 22 Craft and Business Track workshops, a Saturday Keynote with Tracey Livesay, our Annual General Meeting and the Stiletto Contest Awards Ceremony, a pitch event, sponsor discount codes, networking, door prizes, and more!

You can now register for the conference here: https://hopin.com/events/2023-contemporary-romance-virtual-writing-conference-37d4e5f4-8a63-4323-a04d-a631763d3e38

There, you can choose from three ticket options: 

  • The Saturday & Sunday Conference only (FREE for CRW Members with promo code MEMBER2023 – but don’t forget, you have to be a member at the time of the conference or your registration will be voided, so look for your renewal email if your membership expires before June 28.) 
  • The Saturday & Sunday Conference plus the Friday Masterclass ($75 off registration with the same promo code MEMBER2023)
  • The Friday Masterclass only (no promo codes apply)

If you’d like to donate a door prize to be given away during one of our conference workshops, do so here: https://contemporaryromancewritingconference.org/donate-a-door-prize/

And when you tell your friends about the conference and encourage them to join CRW and enjoy the perk of all this free knowledge and fun, don’t forget to give them your affiliate code so you’ll get a discount on your next membership renewal: https://contemporaryromance.org/affiliate-account/

May Writing Challenge

Be sure to join in on the monthly Writing Challenge. You set your own word count goal for the month and report your new word counts at the interval of your choosing (daily, weekly, hourly, etc.). We’ll tally the overall goal at the end of the month, but you can see the progress as updates are reported throughout the month. Encourage other members to hit their goals and get encouragement from them!

Major shout outs to our April participants who hit 100% of their writing goals: Despina Karras and Lauren Connolly. Way to go!! And all our April participants for all your hard work this past month.

Coming Up in 2023…

Here are a few things to look forward to this year as a CRW Member!

  • July: Camp NaNoWriMo
  • July 29 – 30: 2023 CRW Virtual Conference
  • September 1: Spring Mentor Program (applications September 1-14, working in pairs September 15-November 10)
  • October 1 – 15: Taking Nominations for 2024 Board Elections
  • October 16-31: 2024 Board Elections
  • October 15: NaNoWriMo Group Opens
  • November 1 – December 10: A Novel Celebration submissions open

Event Calendar

Writing Sprints

Join in on our CRW-led writing sprints. We share reminders in the member Facebook Group and Slack.

Every Tuesday: 9am ET | 8am CT | 7am MT | 6am PT
Sprints with Tanya on Zoom

Every Wednesday: 5:30am ET | 4:30am CT | 3:30am MT | 2:30am PT
Sprints with Cheryl on Zoom

Every Friday: 11am ET | 10am CT | 9am MT | 8apm PT
Sprints with Dayna on Zoom

Every Saturday: 12pm ET | 11am CT | 10am MT | 9am PT
Sprints with Michelle on Zoom 

Want to run sprints at a different day/time? Let us know!

Upcoming Workshops

Invest in your own growth as a writer this year! Here is the lineup of workshops we have for February 2023. Members attend at a discounted price!

Workshop TrackCRW Member PriceNon-Member Price
General Track (Craft, Business)$20 CRW Member$30 Non-Member
Advanced Track$30 CRW Member$40 Non-Member
Members OnlyFREE for CRW MembersN/A

May 1 – 31
How to Write Great Heroines
Cassandra Carr

May 1 – 31
You Need One Now
Kathryn Jane

May 6 – 1PM PT|2PM MT|3PM CT|4PM ET
Finding Success with Clean/Sweet Romance
Raine English

May 20 – 1PM PT | 2PM MT | 3PM CT | 4PM ET
Developmental Editing
Tamara Hughes

Member New Releases

Have a new release? Share it on our site and in an upcoming Member Newsletter here, and be sure to take a look at all the new books from CRW members published in 2023.

Whatever Happened to My Ex
Author: Poppy Carter
Release Date: February 23, 2023
Author Websitehttps://poppycarterauthor.com
book cover
Holiday Origins: Off-Duty Rescue Ranch
Author: Zee Irwin
Release Date: March 26, 2023
Author Websitehttps://www.zeeirwinauthor.com/
Flip or Flop, Murder House
Author: Lynda Rees
Release Date: April 1, 2023
Author Websitehttps://www.lyndareesauthor.com
Forever His
Author: Jennilynn Wyer
Release Date: April 4, 2023
Author Websitehttp://www.jennilynnwyer.com
Serendipity by the Sea
Author: Jennifer Vido
Release Date: April 12, 2023
Author Websitehttps://www.jennifervido.com/
The Light at Corriveau Crossing
Author: Amber Cross
Release Date: April 14, 2023
Author Websitehttps://www.amber-cross.com
Dance in the Light
Author: Zee Irwin
Release Date: April 18, 2023
Author Websitehttps://www.zeeirwinauthor.com/
No Shadows
Author: Andrea Jenelle
Release Date: April 21, 2023
Author Websitehttps://www.andreajenelleromance.com/my-books
Caught by the Cowgirl
Author: Tanya Agler
Release Date: April 25, 2023
Author Websitehttps://tanyaagler.com
Blinded
Author: JB Schroeder
Release Date: April 27, 2023
Author Websitehttps://jbschroederauthor.com/
Take it All
Author: Libby Waterford
Release Date: April 28, 2023
Author Websitehttps://libbywaterford.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *