Villains: The Too Often Forgotten Character

2022 November | Craft

WHEN: November 5, 2022 – 4pm Eastern | 3pm Central | 2pm Mountain | 1pm Pacific via Zoom

Course Description:

Too many writers dedicate inordinate amounts of time to all other aspects of their stories, then write what they consider is the consummate bad guy and wonder why their stories fall flat. They forget that the villain, in many stories the second- most important character, has not been fleshed out enough to create drama for your protagonists.

In this workshop we’ll discuss:

  • The many levels of villains—from children’s books to dark thrillers.
  • The number one element missing from most villains—that will bring them
    to life on the page.
  • What makes a good villain vs. a cookie-cutter bad guy or gal.
  • The characteristics of a strong villain.
  • Understanding the whys of villains.

About the Instructor:

USA Today bestselling author, Mary Buckham writes the best-selling WRITING ACTIVE series for writers – WRITING ACTIVE SETTING and WRITING ACTIVE HOOKS. She is also the co-author of BREAK INTO FICTION® with NYT author Dianna Love. Mary is nationally recognized for her online and live writing workshops for writers of all genres around the US and Canada, including the Power Plotting Webinars.  

Mary doesn’t just teach writers though. She practices what she preaches, writing Urban Fantasy with attitude.  Do you love romance, danger & kick-ass heroines? Find it in her Alex Noziak or Kelly McAllister series! She also writes YA sci fi/adventure as Micah Caida in the Red Moon series.

Author and Writing Instructor

www.MaryBuckhamOnWriting.com

Facebook: Mary Buckham

Twitter: @MaryBuckham

Register: