Writing Characters of the Opposite Sex

2022 October | Craft

WHEN: October 8, 2022 – 4pm Eastern | 3pm Central | 2pm Mountain | 1pm Pacific via Zoom

Course Description:

Are you sure that you are writing characters of the opposite sex who are true to their sex? Are your men really men and your women clearly women? What are the differences and why? Making sure our portrayals of characters of both sexes are accurate and grounded in ‘scientific’ facts and research, as opposed to simply being based on personal experience, means that we need to make sure our male and female characters are true to their natures.

In this fascinating topic we’ll look at:

  • The differences between male and female body language so your men are
    men and your women are women.
  • Why the sexes are different and how to incorporate those differences on
    the page.
  • How the different sexes flirt.
  • Some key differences between the way men and women communicate.

About the Instructor:

USA Today bestselling author, Mary Buckham writes the best-selling WRITING ACTIVE series for writers – WRITING ACTIVE SETTING and WRITING ACTIVE HOOKS. She is also the co-author of BREAK INTO FICTION® with NYT author Dianna Love. Mary is nationally recognized for her online and live writing workshops for writers of all genres around the US and Canada, including the Power Plotting Webinars.  

Mary doesn’t just teach writers though. She practices what she preaches, writing Urban Fantasy with attitude.  Do you love romance, danger & kick-ass heroines? Find it in her Alex Noziak or Kelly McAllister series! She also writes YA sci fi/adventure as Micah Caida in the Red Moon series.

Author and Writing Instructor

www.MaryBuckhamOnWriting.com

Facebook: Mary Buckham

Twitter: @MaryBuckham

Register: