Writing LGBTQ+ Characters

2022 March | Craft

WHEN: March 12, 2022 – 1pm Eastern|12pm Central|11am Mountain|10am Pacific via Zoom

Course Description:

How do we write with sensitivity and nuance about LGBTQ+ characters?

In this class we’ll explore issues around writing queer characters, point out pitfalls, and discuss guidelines. You’ll take away writing craft and process techniques to increase your sensitivity and help you create LGBTQ+ characters that are both respectful and compelling.

About the Instructor:

Alex Sanchez has published ten novels, including the American Library Association “Best Book for Young Adults” RAINBOW BOYS and Lambda Award-winning SO HARD TO SAY. His novel BAIT won the Tomas Rivera Mexican-American Book Award and the Florida Book Award. YOU BROUGHT ME THE OCEAN, Alex's graphic novel from DC Comics, was illustrated by Julie Maroh. His latest book, THE GREATEST SUPERPOWER came out in 2021. Find out more at: www.AlexSanchez.com.

Register: